To Die Before We Wake

This mornings seed. More often than not the Spirit wakes me with a thought, saying, in effect, “See what you (we) can do with this one”. It’s not as if I don’t have an original thought in the morning, it’s just that if it comes from Him, He’s the one that does the work…. and it’s a good thing.

How many of you “seasoned ” readers recall the prayer of their early years, taught to us by our parents; “Now I lay me down to sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to keep. If I should die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to take”.
Die! I’m only five years old. Later, I’m thinking; Mom’s pretty morbid!
This morning…. I’m thinking, not so much.

There are at least twenty five other versions of that prayer that removes the reference to death. One such poem is; “Now I lay me down to sleep. I pray the Lord my soul to keep. May Angels watch me through the night. And, wake me with the morning light”.

While at five or twenty, it may seem odd to suggest the eminant reality of death; to die in one’s sleep is not a bad option. We credit in our observations; “What a blessing. He died in his sleep”. Obviously, the main point is.. Will God take our soul?.

I abandoned my childhood version of this prayer to focus on things of the time and moment. The Spirit now would turn my attention to considering it again. Not because I am old and the odds are good. But to recognize that it has nothing to do with age. The concern belongs to any of us who wait too long to surrender and find a home for our souls.

Ready now……. If I should die before I wake…href=”https://4hispraise.files.wordpress.com/2010/12/praise.jpg”>

About 4hispraise

I am quite simply a child of our Lord God. What good that I have done or may do, I pray will reflect solely on the presence of The Holy Spirit who speaks for me in all things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

